In the Making

Epic weekend.

Posted by cjaxon on August 18, 2010

I think I’ve been way too long-winded on the past few posts, so I’ll keep this one to the point.

I went home this weekend to help move my younger sister in to college in Alabama. What a weekend. As soon as we got back, I went down to Baton Rouge to spend the day around town and in New Orleans with Betsie and Claire.

2100 miles.

85% humidity.

35 hours on the road.

17 cups of coffee.

6 days.

5 cities.

It was so interesting to move Sarah in, to think about all she’s got ahead of her, to remember everything from freshman year. And it was interesting to compare that as I’m getting ready for my last year in school. Like coming full circle.

Also, I love New Orleans. It’s got it’s own unique culture, and there’s no other city in the US like it. Other cities may have an interesting history, or have a lot of people living in it, but the culture in NOLA is totally its own. It’s apparent in the food, in the weather, in the architecture, in the sounds, in the smells, in the overheard conversations.

Pictures coming soon!

2 Responses to “Epic weekend.”

  1. Mom said

    I like it! Great length!

  2. Destry said

    I am so glad you got to spend time with your family and enjoy NOLA. 🙂 You deserved after how hard you worked this summer!

Leave a Reply

 
