In the Making

To Catch Up

Posted by cjaxon on November 4, 2010

Sorry it’s been so long, for a while there was nothing going on, and now there’s been a lot going on. Choreography Show went really well. (I was in the piece about Greek goddesses/dreamgirls fighting over Zeus, remember?) The audience seemed to like it alot and I was happy with my performance. I left directly from the performance to meet up with the St Luke’s kids on their fall retreat. By the end of the weekend, several of them said it was the best they’d ever been on.

We then had Fall Break. I’d been looking forward to Fall Break, literally, every day for a month. That Monday was going to be the first day since August that I hadn’t set an alarm clock. I wore myself out on the retreat all weekend, worked at the Haunted House on Sunday night (I’ll talk about that in a minute) and then stayed up visiting with friends… and Monday morning my body woke itself up bright and early at 7 am. I was less than thrilled. The rest of Fall Break isn’t really worth talking about, because I really didn’t do anything.

Since then, I’ve worked more at the Haunted House, Ultimate Terrors. The owners have cut a deal with OCU to pay the music and theatre programs if the students go work. The school encouraged all of the MT/VP and theatre students to work five nights each, as a form of “civic duty.” It really does benefit the school tremendously, because most of it goes to reducing the cost of Showcase in the spring. I’m sure I’ll be writing about Showcase soon: it’s a huge deal for Srs. At any rate, there are three different houses at this place, 3D Chaos which is completely blacklit with malicious clowns running around, Skull Manor, a traditional Haunted House, and Code Blue, which is a zombie-factory-laboratory. This year I worked Skull Manor several times and Code Blue. Check it out:

 

First Graveyard shift: literally, I worked in the graveyard at the end of the house.

"Aaahh. My brains are leaking..."

Favorite makeup: Two Face

Punk Rock Zombie!!

For this night, someone actually said to me "That's hilarious, it'll be like this midget pops out at the end with a chainsaw." Whatever, some people are afraid of midgets.

…….

The other big thing in my life right now is the Fall OCUStripped Show, Bye Bye Birdie! For those unfamiliar to Stripped, it’s not what it sounds like. It’s “stripped” down in the sense of minimum tech, suggested costumes and sets, and the focus more directly on the performers. For Birdie I’m in the teen chorus, which has been a blast. There are three big song-and-dance numbers. Ironically, this is the most singing and dancing I’ve done in a show here.

We’ve been rehearsing for three weeks now, and the show opens on Saturday night. It’s going pretty well. We don’t play around here at OCU – we hit rehearsals hard, and Stripped is no exception. Week 1 was music (during choreo show, so I had to miss it), week 2 was all of Act 1, week 3 was all of Act 2, and this week is running the show straight. There have been a few frustrations along the way, but it’s going to turn out the biggest Stripped show so far. Major props to Brian and Billy for putting together a show that’s fun to be in and fun to watch. If you’re here in town, come see us Saturday and Sunday at 8 pm in Petree – and best of all, it’s FREE!! Stripped is run completely on donations.

Finally, I went last Saturday to volunteer at Buddhist monastery for my Service Learning project. But I’ll write more about that next time.

Leave a Reply

 
