In the Making

My Week in NYC

Posted by cjaxon on May 17, 2011

So I’ve spend the rest of the week just living in New York, getting a feel for staying here “for real.” Except, this experiment wasn’t entirely accurate, the main reason being the people I came with. No offense to them, but because we were all here for about the same amount of time, for the same purpose, we ended up hanging out together a lot. Which often translated into shopping during the day (I’ve been to three different H&M’s, and three different Urban Outfitters), eating lunch and/or dinner together (but I love that there’s sushi places EVERYWHERE), seeing a show at night (I’ll give mini-reviews in a minute), and sometimes seeing something afterward.

Keep in mind that I’ve been staying in Queens, across the river from Manhattan. So I have to get up earlier than everyone, bring everything I’ll need for the day, and trudge home at night.

The reason this is all unrealistic to when I move here is that I won’t be going out with people every day and every night. I just don’t have the stamina, or the money. I mean, by the end of the day I’m beat. But once we finished the showcase, we all decided this is a miniature vacation. I’ve taken it easier this week because when I move in August I’m going to focus and get to work. I’ll be able to go to bed earlier, eat dinner at home, and spend time preparing for auditions. I’m finding that although I love visiting with my friends, I do appreciate a good deal of alone time. 

At any rate, let me wrap up the showcase news. I met with Nancy on Friday. She specializes in children and younger-looking agents, and I’ve heard great things about how hard she works to get her clients good auditions. On Friday she asked a lot about me, and I couldn’t read her. I left the meeting not knowing how she really felt about me. But she asked me to come back Monday and read a scene for her. Monday we talked more about her and her agency, and she was much warmer and more encouraging. We’ll just see what comes of that.

Meanwhile, as I said earlier, I’ve been seeing shows. I’ve focused more on the plays than the musicals, because plays tend to have shorter runs. The big musicals will still be here when I move in August.

Sister Act: It was fun! A cheesy script that relied on schtick, but that’s okay. The music and performances and dancing were just plain fun. And Victoria Clark belted! (This may not mean much to most of you, but for a lady known for her beautiful legit voice, it was just cool.)

Arcadia: This is a Tom Stoppard play that’s very intelligent. You have to known some science (entropy theory and so forth) to really get what they’re talking about. And the themes aren’t obvious. In fact, I really understood the play after I did some looking online. The production was hard to follow because they talked too fast and practically yelled all their lines, which wasn’t necessary. But I like the play itself, and I intend to read it when I get back to Oklahoma.

The Importance of Being Earnest: This was a much more accessible production, because they didn’t yell. The comedy was brilliant, because of either the timing or the commitment. And it was beautiful, all the sets and costumes and so forth.

Spiderman: Ah yes, the show everyone is most curious about. Here’s my spiel – for $30, it was visually stunning. The sets and props and, of course, flying were very cool. The book was shallow, because they were trying to cover so much ground. There just wasn’t time for any real depth to the characters or what was going on. The music (by Bono and The Edge) was so-so rock music. The songs never really furthered the plot or allowed for character arc, but rather commented on what was going on. And the lyrics are often weak, and don’t make sense. But I didn’t hate it as much as I thought I might. It makes a great arena/circus-type show.  If you go into it not expecting a traditional musical, and just enjoy what you can see (and maybe zone out a bit during the songs…) it’s really cool.

.   .   .

Other than that, I’ve taken some dance classes, which have all been great. I even went to an audition today for a national tour and had some good feedback. (I don’t think it’ll amount to anything, but the healthier mindset is not to focus on “booking the job,” but “giving a great audition.”) These are the more realistic parts of my trip/vacation, along with the daily commute. Overall, it’s been a great week. I’m ready to go back to OKC tomorrow, but I’m ready to move here in August. I’m sure now that I can, and that I will enjoy it here.

As soon as I can find a place to live.

One Response to “My Week in NYC”

  1. NaNa said

    I’m so glad you are enjoying your time in NY. I keep watching for your updates. Keep that positive attitude.
    Love, hugs and prayers, Pap and NaNa

Leave a Reply

 
